photo

This is a week of “anniversaries”. Yesterday was my parents’ 39th wedding anniversary. What a blessing it is to have parents who have worked at their relationship and remain happily married. I am truly grateful to them for their love and example. Today is the one year anniversary of the day my wonderful husband proposed to me. I am in awe of what God has done in our relationship since we began dating, and I am so happy to be married to my best friend, the love of my life, and the man God chose for me to do life with.

Fiive days from now is one year since the day my second and last foster baby went home. Since he went home, I have had contact off an on, feeling blessed at getting to still be a part of his life, or at least a party to it, no matter how minimal or sporadic the contact. After several months of not hearing from him, I got a few pictures and word about how he is doing. Details aside, the situation is less than perfect, but from what I gather, he is happy and safe. It goes without saying that I miss him, and I hope that one day soon hubby and I will get to visit him.

Whenever I receive pictures of Baby Incredible or hear news about how he is doing, I share it with my family and friends. When a baby spends almost a year of his life with you, everyone becomes attached. This is so good for the baby. Forming bonds with people who love him help him to form neuropathways in his brain that will last for a lifetime and have the potential to help him in more difficult and trying times. It is also hard on the people because in a fostering situation, those bonds are not always lasting.

After sharing the latest pictures with my dad, he sent me this e-card. I cried happy tears. To have a father who loves me that much and who cares about me that much and who knows how to express that to me is a blessing beyond blessings. Happy Father’s Day, Daddy-O. I love you, and you are a gift to me.

Leave a Reply

