Sometimes I Wonder

Sometimes I wonder if Little Dude will remember me.  I mean, I know he won’t remember me consciously, but the unconscious mind is fascinating.  God is a master craftsman.

I wonder if he will remember my scent.  In a class I once took called “Memories and Mindfulness”, we learned that one of the most powerful aids to memory is the sense of smell.  I wonder if he will remember the smell of the coconut oil I used to put on him or the smell of my perfume that he surely grew accustomed to, as he spent many hours sleeping on my chest, listening to my heartbeat.

Even if I never know that this is so, I do hope that it is.  For some reason, the thought brings me comfort.

Leave a Reply

