First Three Weeks…I have a baby AND a boyfriend…surrender is powerful!

In my opening post of this blog, I wrote about my journey to becoming a foster mom, which essentially became my story of surrender.  I didn’t plan it that way.  In fact, the beauty of this story is that I didn’t plan it at all.  I simply followed God, and He did the most incredible things.

God gave me the gift of surrender.  He allowed me to be completely at peace with whatever His plan was for my life, whether it involved marriage and kids or not.  He allowed me to be in a place of wanting that but feeling at peace about not having it, should that be His will, His perfect and pleasing will.  (Romans 12:2)

Let me just pause here to reiterate what a huge deal this surrender was.  It is a HUGE deal!  I never could have surrendered marriage and kids by my own strength or willpower.  My attempts had only served to frustrate and sadden me.

God didn’t stop with giving me the gift of surrender.  It really is true that God has plans to prosper us and not to harm us, to give us hope and a future.  (Jeremiah 29:11)  It’s just almost never in the timing that we have in mind for ourselves, and it’s usually never in the way that we would write the story.

Not three weeks after I realized that God had given me the gift of surrender, I got my first clue that God had even more plans for me than the gift of surrender and the call to foster.  Now, only twelve weeks later, I have an amazing boyfriend who is incredibly supportive of my calling to be a foster mama.

One of my wise friends would always tell me that things could quickly change, that God could surprise me at any time.  I believed that for other people but not for myself.  Now I see how wrong I was to have any doubt that God has an incredible and unique story that he wrote just for me.

2 thoughts on “First Three Weeks…I have a baby AND a boyfriend…surrender is powerful!

  1. Kim Upton

    Yes, a story written JUST for you. And it’s a beautiful one, even more beautiful than you Megan. You are truly an inspiration of someone who is living her faith, a woman who is giving peace and contentment to your ‘little dude’. Thank you for your day by day, moment by moment surrender. It’s so fun to watch God giving you ‘life to the full’.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

